Monday Morning Boost: What Is Love?

Monday Morning Boost: What Is Love?

Thoughts, words, and stories are synonymous for me. Each influences the other. And each influences our behavior and actions. The more intentional we are about each, the more intentional we will be about where we put our energy, and the more intentional the results we will create in every area of life.

That’s why I use words like Greatness, Empowering, Success, Service, Intentional, Consistency, etc. Each word means something significant.

And this is why I intentionally and consistently use the word Love. I say it frequently… to my family, to my friends, to clients, to people I barely know, and even to strangers.

Love is the missing ingredient in life… and in business.


If we turn to Webster, we discover that love is both a noun and a verb.

  • Noun – “strong affection for another… attraction based on sexual desire… affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests”
  • Verb – “to hold dear, cherish… to feel a lover’s passion, devotion, or tenderness for… to like or desire actively… to thrive in”

Continued research validates there are various types of love. FTD, the guru of all things love (at least when it comes to flowers), has an enjoyable read on their blog about the 8 different types of love. I share here the 8 types along with their basic definition. Click the link for a more complete discussion.

  • Philia — Affectionate Love
  • Pragma — Enduring Love
  • Storge — Familiar Love
  • Eros — Romantic Love
  • Ludus — Playful Love
  • Mania — Obsessive Love
  • Philautia — Self Love
  • Agape — Selfless Love

Dr. Gary Chapman has helped save many marriages and relationships with his quintessential concept, “The Five Love Languages.” We all give and receive love in these 5 basic yet different ways.

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

Dr. Chapman has also adapted his revolutionary concept to the workplace through what he calls “The Five Languages of Appreciation in The Workplace.” I prefer the more informal title, The Five Workplace Love Languages.

  • Words of Affirmation — Feedback & Mentorship
  • Quality Time — Workplace Bonding
  • Receiving Gifts — New Opportunities & Challenges
  • Acts of Service — Support
  • Physical Touch — Encouraging Touchpoints


The greatest example of love in my life is that I receive and see given by my angel Elisa. She is love, gives love, and receives love for me more than any other human. She truly loves the whole of me even though she knows the whole of me. I will forever strive to love her in such a way in return.


I cannot fully attempt to define Love without acknowledging what I feel is the greatest definition of love, that which was spoken and emulated by the Master of Love.

“Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

These words stand solemnly on their own, independent of any needed explanation.


My love for you, at whatever level I know you, intentionally and consistently strives to manifest as a verb by holding dear and cherishing your greatness. I wish to universally and collectively manifest a love that is both enduring (pragma) and selfless (agape). I strive to utilize the Five Languages of Love in such a way others can best feel and receive my love in my personal and professional relationships.

In the hope of loving this way I have also needed to learn how to best love myself (philautia). That’s why I intentionally strive to create a Story of Love and Greatness for myself. That’s why I focus on loving the whole of me even though I know the whole of me. I extend myself grace and forgiveness, accept I am a masterpiece in progress, love myself with the same confident hope I also love others.

Most importantly, I will forever strive to learn how to love myself and others (including those who have hurt, caused pain or misfortune) as the Master of Love forever loves.

As I was recently reminded by my mentor and cheerleader Cheryl Knowlton, I lead with my new heart. And so can you.

My incredible friends, I intentionally and confidently say to you today…

I love you!

I truly do.

Lastly, I leave you with a gift…

Have a beautiful Monday! I love you, friends!


p.s. Take 13 minutes today to lead with your heart and share your love and receive the love of others.

Lead Image by Ylanite Koppens, Pixabay 
Photo of swan by S. Hermann & F. Richter, Pixabay 



Click this link to schedule a complimentary Red Edge Discovery session

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *